CCMA Award Winners - Industry Lunch


Friday, September 7 (Hamilton, ON) -- A weekend of celebrating Canada’s best in country music has begun with the first 18 awards being handed out this afternoon in Hamilton, ON. Recognizing key industry players, the CCMA Industry Lunch & Awards presented by Nielsen Music was hosted by Steve Kassay and saw Travis Switzer entering the Musician Hall of Honour by taking home his 5th win for Bass Player of the Year.

Tomorrow the CCMA will hand out an additional 14 awards at the 2018 CCMA Gala Dinner & Awards, including Songwriter(s) of the Year (presented by ole) and Stingray Video of the Year.

MEDIA NOTE: The most up-to-date list of 2018 CCMA Award winners can be found at throughout Country Music Week 2018.


Bass Player of the Year
Travis Switzer

Drummer of the Year
Ben Bradley

Fiddle Player of the Year
Tyler Vollrath

Steel Guitar Player of the Year
Mitch Jay

Music Director of the Year (Large Market)
Amanda Kingsland - CKBY-FM - Ottawa, ON

Music Director of the Year (Medium or Small Market)
Paul Ferguson - CHCQ-FM - Belleville, ON

On-Air Personality(ies) of the Year (Large Market)
“KX Morning Ride with Ellis & Archer” - CJKX-FM - Oshawa, Ontario

On-Air Personality(ies) of the Year (Medium or Small Market)
“Jason, Jack & Carey Morning Show” - CICX-FM - Orillia, Ontario

Booking Agency of the Year
The Feldman Agency

Country Club of the Year
Ranchman's Cookhouse and Dancehall - Calgary, AB

Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition of the Year
Cavendish Beach Music Festival - Cavendish, PE

Country Music Program or Special of the Year
Jess Moskaluke - Home Movie - Corus Entertainment

Management Company of the Year
Invictus Entertainment Group

Creative Director(s) of the Year
Design Team: Antoine Moonen, Mediavandals 
Photography: Delaney Royer
Album: Past The Past (Artist: Jess Moskaluke)

Recording Studio of the Year 
Bart McKay Productions - Saskatoon, SK

Record Producer(s) of the Year
Jeff Dalziel
Album: What We’re Made Of (Artist: The Washboard Union)

Retailer of the Year
Spotify Canada Inc.

Video Director of the Year
Stephano Barberis
Video: The Bad Guy (Artist: Meghan Patrick), Video: Coming Clean (Artist: Shirley Gnome),  Video: Dirt Covered Rhinestone (Artist: Jade Mya), Video: Heart Of A Woman (Artist: Johnny Reid), Video: Hold The Line (Artist: Jesse Mast), Video: Might As Well Be Me (Artist: Chad Brownlee), Video: Neon Smoke (Artist: Gord Bamford), Video: Out Of The Blue (Artist: Chad Brownlee), Video: Sky Stays This Blue (Artist: Dallas Smith), Video: Something To Wrap My Heart Around (Artist: JoJo Mason), Video: What We’re Made Of (Artist: The Washboard Union)

Country Music Week culminates on Sunday, September 9 at the 2018 CCMA Awards Show where seven CCMA Awards will be presented from Hamilton’s FirstOntario Centre. The 2018 CCMA Awards Show will be broadcast on CBC and globally on at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).


About the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA)
Established in 1976, the CCMA is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization committed to the promotion and recognition of Canadian country music. Built upon the foundation to educate, elevate and celebrate Canadian talent, the CCMA progressively heralds the spirit, community and creativity that country music fosters through year-round initiatives, culminating every fall with Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards. Sponsors of Country Music Week and the 2018 CCMA Awards Show include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund”, Ontario Creates, Radio Starmaker Fund, the Government of Ontario, City of Hamilton, Tourism Hamilton and the Hamilton, Halton and Brant Regional Tourism Organization.

Media Contacts

Tiffany Astle, penelopePR | 416.554.7329 

Richelle Umali, penelopePR | 647.383.8857