The Reklaws, The Washboard Union and Tebey to Perform at the CCMA Awards


Madeline Merlo and Tebey to join previously announced
Tim Hicks on Awards show stage live from Hamilton, ON on September 9 on CBC

August 28, 2018 (Toronto, On) - Today the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) announced another round of performers for the 2018 CCMA Awards. Three-time 2018 CCMA Award nominees The Reklaws and three-time CCMA Award winners The Washboard Union are ready to light up the stage at FirstOntario Centre. Adding to the excitement is the confirmation of celebrated artists Madeline Merlo and Tebey joining 2018 Apple Music Fans’ Choice nominee Tim Hicks’ performance.

Broadcast live from Hamilton on Sunday, September 9 and nationwide on CBC and at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT), the 2018 CCMA Awards will be hosted by Shania Twain and include performances by Keith Urban, Lindsay Ell, High Valley, Dallas Smith, Terri Clark, Tim Hicks, Meghan Patrick, Serena Ryder, Jessica Mitchell and James Barker Band, among others.

Re-introducing themselves with a major label debut at Universal Music Canada, The Reklaws kicked off summer 2017 with their chart-rattling single, “Hometown Kids”. Charting at #15 on Canadian country radio, the single garnered over 1 million Spotify streams and major playlist adds including Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s “PM Mix”. Most recently, the brother-sister duo released their first EP Long Live the Night – a three-track EP made up of the anthemic title track “Long Live The Night” which hit top 5 at Canadian country radio and is named as the official theme song of the CFL’s Thursday Night Football for the 2018 season.

2018 will see The Washboard Union return to the CCMA Awards stage for the second consecutive year, an honour they have most certainly earned. With three Top 10 country radio hits and a certified Gold single for “Shot Of Glory”, the three-time CCMA Award recipients spent part of 2018 on tour with with Old Dominion promoting their new album, What We’re Made Of, and will be continuing to tour across Canada following their stop in Hamilton on September 9. The Washboard Union are nominated for 3 CCMA Awards this year: Album of the Year, Group or Duo of the Year and Roots Artist of the Year.

Earning his first certified Gold single in 2014 with “Wake Me Up” and his first Billboard #1 as a songwriter for “Somebody Else Will” (performed by Justin Moore) in 2017, two-time Producer of the Year Award nominee Tebey will hit the CCMA Awards stage as a performer for the first time this September. With 3 millions streams to-date in Canada, his Top 5 charted radio single “Denim on Denim” is closing in on Gold status and has set the foundation for his upcoming national tour, supporting Tim Hicks later this fall.

Tickets to the 2018 CCMA Awards are now on-sale. Single tickets and packages are available for purchase in-person at the FirstOntario Centre Box Office and online at with $1 of each ticket sale going directly to MusiCounts in support of their year-round music initiatives.

Fans are encouraged to follow updates for the CCMA Awards via Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

For more information on the CCMA and the 2018 CCMA Awards please visit


About the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA)
Established in 1976, the CCMA is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization committed to the promotion and recognition of Canadian country music. Built upon the foundation to educate, elevate and celebrate Canadian talent, the CCMA progressively heralds the spirit, community and creativity that country music fosters through year-round initiatives, culminating every fall with Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards. Sponsors of Country Music Week and the 2018 CCMA Awards Show include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund”, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, Radio Starmaker Fund, the Government of Ontario, City of Hamilton, Tourism Hamilton and the Hamilton, Halton and Brant Regional Tourism Organization.

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster. Through our mandate to inform, enlighten and entertain, we play a central role in strengthening Canadian culture. As Canada’s trusted news source, we offer a uniquely Canadian perspective on news, current affairs and world affairs. Our distinctively homegrown entertainment programming draws audiences from across the country. Deeply rooted in communities, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Indigenous languages. We are leading the transformation to meet the needs of Canadians in a digital world.

About CBC Music
CBC Music connects Canadians with the very best in music. Available through the CBC Music app, online, on radio and in television specials throughout the year, CBC Music ‎privileges Canadian artists and songs. Offering over 100 free music streams, CBC Music draws from all genres and classifications with knowledgeable hosts and programmers. Home to the JUNO Awards and your favourite music from across the country, discover the next great act with CBC Music. For more, visit


Media Contacts:

For Madeline Merlo:
Erin Richards, Hype PR | 416.6275728

For Tebey:
Samantha Pickard, Strut Entertainment | 647.405.1715

For The Reklaws:
Tye Worobess, Universal Music Canada | 416.859.8315

For The Washboard Union:
Steve Waxman, Warner Music Canada | 416.758.1097

For Canadian Country Music Association:
Tiffany Astle, penelopePR | 416.554.7329

For CBC and CBC Music:
Teaghan Hawke, Publicist, CBC | 416.205.6863